What are the special areas in Annex 1?

What are the special areas in Annex 1?

What are the special areas in regulation of Marpol Annex 1? (a) For the purposes of §§ 151.09 through 151.25 of this subpart, the special areas are the Mediterranean Sea area, the Baltic Sea area, the Black Sea area, the Red Sea area, the Gulfs area, the Gulf of Aden, the Antarctic area, the North West European waters, the Oman area of the Arabian Sea, and the Southern South

What are the special areas identified in the provisions of Technical Annex II? § 151.32 Special areas for the purpose of Annex II. (a) For the purposes of §§ 151.30 through 151.49, the special areas are the Baltic Sea area, the Black Sea area, and the Antarctic area which are described in § 151.06.

Which are SECA areas? Emission Control Areas (ECAs), or Sulfur Emission Control Areas (SECAs), are sea areas in which stricter controls were established to minimize airborne emissions from ships as defined by Annex VI of the 1997 MARPOL Protocol.

Table of Contents

What are the special areas in Annex 1? – Related Questions

How many regulations does Annex 1 have?

This marine environmental convention consists of six implemented annexes for controlling and eliminating of marine pollution. They are as follows: Annex I: Regulation for prevention of pollution by oil (October 1983).

Can we run OWS in special areas?

The special areas are no longer relevant to the operation of OWS.

What is the most important feature of Annex 5?

Annex V Prevention of Pollution by Garbage from Ships

Deals with different types of garbage and specifies the distances from land and the manner in which they may be disposed of; the most important feature of the Annex is the complete ban imposed on the disposal into the sea of all forms of plastics.

What is Annex II?

MARPOL 73/78 Annex II, Regulations for the Control of Pollution by Noxious Liquid Substances in Bulk. The main principle of Annex II is to dilute cargo residues in seawater to prescribed limits depending on their pollution hazard and facilitate the distribution of discharges by utilising the wake of the ship.

Why they are called sensitive areas?

A PSSA is an area that needs special protection through action by IMO because of its significance for recognized ecological, socio-economic, or scientific attributes where such attributes may be vulnerable to damage by international shipping activities.

What are the special areas for the purpose of Annex V?

The special areas established under Annex V are:

the Mediterranean Sea. the Baltic Sea. the Black Sea. the Red Sea.

What is the importance of special areas?

The purpose of Special Areas of Conservation is to help conserve the 189 habitat types and 788 species identified in Annex I and II of the Directive. They are considered to be the habitats and species that are most in need of conservation at the European level (excluding birds).

See also  How old was L Ron Hubbard when he died?

What Marpol means?

The International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships (MARPOL) is the main international convention covering prevention of pollution of the marine environment by ships from operational or accidental causes. The MARPOL Convention was adopted on at IMO.

What does Seca stand for in shipping?

• Sulphur Emission Control Area(s) (SECA) was created in May 2005 to enforce a stricter control to minimise airborne emissions (SOx ,NOx, PA) from ships.

Are IMO guidelines mandatory?

Codes and guidelines can be both mandatory and non mandatory. Codes such as ISM and IBC codes are mandatory and are a part of a parent convention or protocol. Resolutions are the finalized documents which are accepted by the IMO or any of the main body under IMO.

What are Annex 1 countries?

Within the UNFCCC regime, the term “Annex I countries” refers to a list of countries that includes members of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development ( OECD ) as well as economies in transition.

What is Regulation 5 of this Annex 1?

Regulation 5 – Equivalents. 1 The Administration may allow any fitting, material, appliance or apparatus to be fitted in a ship as an alternative to that required by this Annex if such fitting, material, appliance or apparatus is at least as effective as that required by this Annex.

What is the meaning of Annex 1?

to attach, append, or add, especially to something larger or more important. to incorporate (territory) into the domain of a city, country, or state: Germany annexed part of Czechoslovakia. to take or appropriate, especially without permission. to attach as an attribute, condition, or consequence.

Can sewage be discharged at sea?

The discharge of raw sewage into the sea can create a health hazard. The main sources of human-produced sewage are land-based – such as municipal sewers or treatment plants. However, the discharge of sewage into the sea from ships also contributes to marine pollution.

What maximum oil content may be discharged overboard in special areas?

The vessel should not be in special areas. The tanker must be 50 nautical miles away from land. The instantaneous rate of discharge of oil content does not exceed 30 litres per nautical mile. The total quantity of discharge must not exceed 1/30000 of the total quantity of the residue formed cargo.

See also  Will a reverse osmosis system add value to home?

What is the purpose of IOPP Certificate?

The IOPP certificate is issued to each new ship after an appointed surveyor has inspected it and found it to be in compliance with the MARPOL convention. The IOPP certificate gives details of all oily water separation and filtering equipment and also the associated monitoring equipment required under the convention.

What is Marpol annex7?

Annex VII – Regulation for the prevention of pollution by Ballast Water form ships. Annex VIII – Regulation for the prevention of pollution by Toxic Paints from ships.

Is there any exceptions to the Annex V?

Annex V – Regulation 6 – Exceptions. the accidental loss of synthetic fishing nets, provided that all reasonable precautions have been taken to prevent such loss.

What are Annex 2 countries?

Annex II parties. Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, European Community, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States of America.

Can you discharge NLS into the Antarctic Ocean?

Exceptions to these rules – Regulation 5 of this Annex shall not apply to: (a) the discharge into the sea of NLS necessary for securing the safety of a ship or saving life at sea; 9 In the Antarctic area, any discharge of NLS shall be prohibited.

What is environmentally sensitive sea areas?

Environmentally Sensitive Sea Area (ESSA) is a generic term which may be used to describe a wide range of areas, considered sensitive for a variety of environmental reasons. The implications which each of these have for charting and navigation may be different.

Leave a Comment